McNaught Guitar Forums
September 26, 2017, 11:23:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to ClubMcNaught.com!!! These forums are intended to be a sounding board for guitarists lucky enough to own a work of art made by David Thomas McNaught (and Dave Mansel too).
Home Help Search Arcade Media Login Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: 5-way Blade Switch Replacement  (Read 5418 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
cliffchappell
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« on: October 25, 2007, 09:52:19 AM »

It seems that the 5-way blade switch on my 02' DTM Phoenix is going bad.  I opened the guitar up and it has a Schaller switch in it, which is pretty difficult to find, even on the web.  Which switches can be used to replace it? I'm lucky enought to be right around the corner from AllParts in Houston.   Smiley

I just want to make sure that I get one that fits.

Thanks,
Cliff Chappell
Logged
Dave
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2815


« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2007, 03:54:31 PM »

Hey Cliff,
That is a Schaller MEGA-P switch.  It produces the same type of combinations as a PRS 5-way rotary.  Anyway,...you can get one from Stewart MacDonald Guitar Shop Supply.  There number is 1-800-848-2273.  The part number is 3530.  Hope that helps.
Thanks,
Dave
P.S. You may want to spray some contact cleaner on the 5-way.  They get dirt down in there and sometimes you can clean them and they work good as new again.  You can get a can of contact cleaner at Radio Shack
Logged
RAZOR777
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1588


WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2007, 10:42:46 PM »

Dude,

How cool is that?  You got the down-low from the man himself!

By the way, you ain't kinned to Dave Chappelle, are you?

 Grin
Logged

Rust in Peace
ToastyTubes
Guest
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2007, 07:10:39 AM »

...
P.S. You may want to spray some contact cleaner on the 5-way.  They get dirt down in there and sometimes you can clean them and they work good as new again.  You can get a can of contact cleaner at Radio Shack
...

I've used contact cleaner on my VSC switch, and it worked for me. This would be worth trying prior to replacing the switch.  I found just a little bit sprayed on the switch worked well.
 Smiley
Logged
Dr Git
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1336



WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2007, 10:10:21 PM »

Thats for the heads up Dave.....Always good to get some info here and there for us wanabies
Logged
darrellwr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1248



WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2007, 10:11:53 AM »

here ya go Grin


http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Electronics,_pickups/Components:_Switches_and_knobs/2/Megaswitches.html
Logged

Workin for a living
cliffchappell
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2007, 06:37:52 PM »

Thanks to everyone for the info.  The contact cleaner didn't do it, so it looks like it's time for a new switch which is in the mail already. Smiley

Logged
Dave
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2815


« Reply #7 on: November 01, 2007, 02:52:12 PM »

Hey Cliff,
When it comes in,...do not hesitate to e-mail me or call the shop if you have any questions on putting the new switch in.
Thanks,
Dave
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Home Help Search Arcade Media Login Register

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Gold Charm by Shadow82x in association with SMF Themes 2008
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.048 seconds with 19 queries.